About Tauragė

Tauragė district municipality

Tauragė district municipality occupies 1179 sq. km area. Of these, agricultural land makes up 52.75%, forests – 35.19%, roads – 1.44%, cities and settlements – 2.12%, water bodies – 1.61%, other areas – 6.89 percent.

Tauragė district municipality was established in 1995. and the largest is the average Lithuanian municipality with a population of 38 thousand. population. There are 8 elderships in the district municipality: Batakiai, Gaurė, Lauksargiai, Mažonai, Tauragė district, Tauragė city, Skaudvilė, Žygaičiai. In 2009, 43 small elderships were established.

Principles of municipal activity:
  • Transparent and efficient financial management;
  • Development of convenient infrastructure;
  • Attracting investment;
  • Improving the quality of municipal services;
  • Purposeful use of funds.

Tauragė district – the greenest district of Lithuania – such a message has been spreading since 2015. The initiative to become the greenest quickly became one of the priority works of Tauragė municipality, which is systematically implemented and continues. Solar, wind, water and even sludge energy is used. The largest wind farm in the country has been installed in the district, the second largest hydroelectric power plant in the country is located in Balskai Dam, sludge processing facilities are operating, and solar power plants are located on the roofs of public institutions. Tauragė District Municipality implements various solutions that increase energy efficiency, declares electricity savings and has become a member of the ESO Intelligent Energy Club.

Dependence on the global network is inevitable, so as we go hand in hand with the flow of information about the work done and the need for skilled workers, we shout out loud!

The main elements of the transport infrastructure of Tauragė district municipality are the road network, railway lines, local waterways, as well as aerodromes in the villages of Girininkai (Žygaičiai eldership) and Norkaičiai, which are intended for ultralight aircraft flights. Tauragė district municipality borders with Jurbarkas, Raseiniai, Šilalė, Šilutė district municipalities and Pagėgiai municipality.

The international “Via Hanseatica” highway, which connects European countries with Russia, runs through the city of Tauragė, and the Radviliškis – Pagėgiai railway has been built on the southern edge. The Vilnius-Klaipėda highway runs along the northern border of the district. Tauragė is the center of Tauragė district municipality and county, the most important industrial, trade, service, educational and cultural city in the region.

  • 2005 Tauragė District Municipality was awarded the Golden Crave “For Friend’s Friendship” established by the Ministry of National Defense of the Republic of Lithuania.
  • 2014 Tauragė District Municipality was awarded the Golden Curve “For purposeful use of EU investments for complex territorial development”. This award was given by the Ministry of Finance of the Republic of Lithuania.
  • 2015 Tauragė District Municipality has even been awarded two Golden Curves: “For Improving the Investment Environment”, “Strong Community – Strong Europe”.
  • 2018 Tauragė District Municipality was awarded the Golden Curve for Entrepreneurship Promotion, established by the Ministry of Economy.
  • 2019 Tauragė District Municipality was awarded the Golden Curve “For Cooperation with Non-Governmental Organizations and Ambitious Plans in It”, which was established by the Ministry of Social Security and Labor.
Scroll to Top